clock menu more-arrow no yes

BREAKING: Victor Osimhen Nominated For 2023 FIFA Best Player Award

BREAKING: Victor Osimhen Nominated For 2023 FIFA Best Player Award

Nigerian and Napoli striker, Victor Osimhen has been nominated for the FIFA Best Player award 2023.

BREAKING: Victor Osimhen Nominated For 2023 FIFA Best Player Award
Victor Osimhen

Osimhen’s nomination is coming on the heels of his nomination for the 2023 Ballon d’or.

WhatsApp Group Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now

The nominations further cements osimhen’s status as one of the current world’s top football talents.


The Super Eagles forward was nominated alongside Argentine superstar Lionel Messi, prolific striker Erling Haaland, midfield maestro Kevin De Bruyne, and French sensation Kylian Mbappe.

Also: 2023-2024 Premier League Matchday Five Fixtures, Kick Off Time

Others include World Cup and UEFA Champions League winner, Julian Alvarez, Marcelo Brozovic, İlkay Gundogan, Rodri, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia, Declan Rice, and Bernardo Silva.

This historic nomination makes Victor Osimhen the first Nigerian player ever to be listed for the FIFA Best Footballer Award, an honour that highlights his exceptional skills and contributions to the world of football.

However, Portuguese captain, Cristiano Ronaldo was committed for the much coveted individual trophy.

Osimhen had a remarkable season for Napoli last season, scoring 26 league goals to guide the Partenopei to their first Scudetto title in 33 years.

The towering Nigerian also took home the the Serie A top scorer award ahead of Inter Milan’s Lautaro Martinez and AC Milan’s Rafael Leao, becoming the first African to do so.

Osimhen added 5 more goals in the Champions League for Napolicas well as 7 goals for Nigeria in the African Cup of Nations Qualifiers.

FIFA Best Player of The Year Award 2023 Nominees

Lionel Messi ??
Erling Haaland ??
Kylian Mbappe ??
Julian Alvarez ??
Marcelo Brozovic ??
Kevin De Bruyne ??
Victor Osimhen ??
Ilkay Gundogan ??
Rodri ??
Khvicha Kvaratskhelia ??
Declan Rice ???????
Bernardo Silva ??

The qualification period for the Best FIFA Football Awards 2023 runs from 19 December 2022 to 20 August 2023 (it does NOT include the World Cup 2022).

The FIFA Best Awards celebrate excellence in football across the globe and offer a platform to honor the outstanding talent and contributions of players and coaches in the sport.